In the Halls of Justice: Facilitating Safe Spaces in Courthouses

MS
August 02, 2019 at 2pm

Description:

We're pleased to announce the 13th webinar in our monthly Winning in the States webinar series. Each month, NILC’s Winning in the States Initiative will be delving into priority state-level policy challenges and strategies with leaders in the field. We’ll share best practices from practitioners and facilitate robust discussions on how policy challenges are being tackled in real time. Our webinar, In the Halls of Justice: Facilitating Safe Spaces in Courthouses, will take place on Friday, August 2 at 11am PT/12pm MT/1pm CT/2pm ET. Immigrant and Customs Enforcement’s (ICE’s) policy prevents agents from acting in areas designated as “sensitive locations”: schools, medical centers, places of worship, etc. However, in January 2018, a directive reinforced ICE's intention to continue conducting courthouse arrests, leaving immigrants vulnerable to being detained when presenting themselves for court appearances, participating in cases as witnesses, or simply accompanying family members to court settings. The resulting mix of confusion, mistrust, and fear has led immigrants to avoid the justice system all together. By missing court appearances and not reporting crimes to the police, this chilling effect creates genuine public safety issues across the country. Join us for a constructive conversation about the history of this issue as well as tools, policies, and approaches that can be employed to mitigate the effects of courthouses' lack of designation as sensitive locations.

Registration:

Click here to register.

Please RSVP: In the Halls of Justice: Facilitating Safe Spaces in Courthouses
In the Halls of Justice: Facilitating Safe Spaces in Courthouses
Take the pledge to help protect the rights of immigrants and ensure fair treatment and due process for all.